Review of Academic Requirements for Admission, 2015

At the request of the Council of Chief Justices, in 2015 the LACC conducted a limited review of the academic areas of knowledge prescribed for admission to the legal profession in Australia. The following explanatory document was prepared and made available on the Law Council of Australia's website. It sets out the scope of, and reasons for, the limited review and poses the several particular questions on which public submissions were sought.

In December 2016, as a result of the review, the description of Evidence changed, and Civil Dispute Resolution replaced Civil Procedure.

Submissions about the review were received from:

- 1. The Honourable Brian Sully QC
- 2. Hwee Cheng Goh
- 3. The Honourable J.C. Campbell
- 4. Council of Australian Law Deans
- 5. University of Queensland Pro Bono Centre.
- 6. Bar Association of Queensland
- 7. Supplementary Submission Council Australian Law Deans (refer no 4)
- 8. Corporate Law Teachers Association (CLTA)
- 9. Corporations Committee of the Business Law Section, Law Council of Australia
- 10. Law Council of Australia
- 11. Legal Ethics Academic Lawyers Australian National University
- 12. Griffith Law School
- 13. Quintin Rares, Barrister
- USQ School of Law & Justice (led by Associate Professor Lynda Crowley Cyr -Coordinator of Teaching and Learning)
- 15. Academic lawyers engaged in teaching and research on civil dispute resolution
- 16. School of Law at the University of Western Sydney
- 17. Northern Territory Bar
- 18. Large Law Firm Group
- 19. Australian Law Students' Association
- 20. Wellness Network for Law
- 21. Professor Peta Spender
- 22. Australasian Professional Legal Education Council (APLEC)
- 23. Members of the Commercial and Property Law Research Centre at the School of Law at QUT
- 24. Queensland Law Society
- 25. Queensland Law Society- Ethics and Professional Responsibility
- 26. Family Law Section, Law Council of Australia
- 27. Law Institute of Victoria
- 28. Dr Kate Sainsbury and Associate Professor Susan Armstrong, University of Western Sydney
- 29. Maxine Evers, UTS Law
- 30. Professor Margaret Thornton, ANU Public Policy Fellow